top of page
Linden SD 3.jpg

How to enter


  • Entries to the SD Harvey Short Crime Story Award can be submitted by published and unpublished writers and can be either fiction or nonfiction stories

  • Multiple entries are accepted

  • Submissions must be the author’s original work 

  • An entry fee of $60 (plus booking fee) applies to individual online submissions via the SD Harvey Award page on the Kennedy Awards website (click below). This is to support the Kennedy Foundation which generously hosts the award.

  • Stories must be between 1800 (in the case of non fiction) and up to 5000 words in length and between 2000-5000 for fiction.

  • The broadest definition of the crime story will be considered eligible, but should include one or more elements that are normally associated with the genre, i.e. suspense, intrigue, mystery, conflict, crime, punishment or investigation.

  • Entries will be judged on story structure; characterisation; ‘ripping yarn’ and dialogue/quotes and plot.

How to enter: Welcome


Entries are open May 1 to July 1
Awards Night 18 August

Entries – published or unpublished (in the year to June 30) – can be submitted between May 1 and the close of business on July 1, 2023.

PDF versions of printed works can be sent to

To cover costs incurred by the Kennedy Foundation in generously hosting this award alongside the Kennedy Awards, a $60 entry fee (+ booking fee) is required to enter short stories of between a minimum of 2000 (1800 words for non-fiction only) and up to 5000 words for crime fiction. 

$1000 cash prize. 

Word rates are not flexible and anything outside those stated may render an entry ineligible.

A brief accompanying statement for non-fiction works is appreciated.

The organising committee.

Please email questions to

How to enter: Text

SD Harvey Award finalists

  • As announced in late July, the finalists for 2022 were:

  • Harry Colfer – Number 30: Traumatic Injury

  • Kate Kelsen – Kindred Counsel

  • Kristin Murdock – The Side Hustle

The winner will be announced at the gala dinner of the Kennedy Awards at Royal Randwick Racecourse on 12 August, 2022.

_MG_5455 3_edited_edited.jpg
How to enter: About
bottom of page